Taking Care of Each Other
The WGA Negotiating Committee, WGAW Board, WGAE Council and others have pledged funds to help industry workers in need.
Wednesday, May 10, 2023

Dear Members, 
Over the past week, writers have seen unprecedented and powerful demonstrations of solidarity from workers across the industry who also struggle under the current broken business model. We are in this fight together. And, together, we will feel the toll of this strike.  

In recognition of the effects of a work stoppage on the entire entertainment community, the WGA Negotiating Committee, Writers Guild of America West (WGAW) Board, Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) Council, and others have pledged funds to help industry workers in need. With lead gifts from J.J. Abrams, Greg Berlanti, Adam McKay, Ryan Murphy, Shonda Rhimes, Mike Schur, and John Wells, writers have pledged more than $1.7 million in total to the Entertainment Community Fund to help all industry workers.

The Entertainment Community Fund (formerly The Actors Fund) provides emergency financial assistance to individuals in entertainment (including the film and TV community) who meet the needs-based requirements, regardless of their profession within the industry or union affiliation. The Fund also provides human services nationally for people who work in film, theater, television, music, opera, radio and dance, as well as multiple health and wellness, career and life, and housing services to support a life in the arts. 

If you have the means, we invite you to join us by donating what you can. Visit and select “Film and Television” from the drop-down menu.



David A. Goodman, Co-Chair
Chris Keyser, Co-Chair
Ellen Stutzman, Chief Negotiator

John August
Angelina Burnett
Kay Cannon
Yahlin Chang
Robb Chavis
Adam Conover
Travis Donnelly
Ashley Gable
Hallie Haglund
Eric Haywood
Eric Heisserer
Greg Iwinski
Luvh Rakhe
Erica Saleh
Danielle Sanchez-Witzel
James Schamus
Tom Schulman
Mike Schur
David Shore
David Simon
Patric M. Verrone
Nicole Yorkin

Meredith Stiehm, WGAW President
Michele Mulroney, WGAW Vice President
Betsy Thomas, WGAW Secretary-Treasurer
Michael Winship, WGAE President
Lisa Takeuchi Cullen, WGAE Vice President of Film/TV/Streaming
Christopher Kyle, WGAE Secretary-Treasurer